• Time to get started again!

    Hi, it's been a  long while, fellow readers!

    Time to blog again in so long! You may find it uncalled for, but I feel the need to dust off this rather old bit of archive after quite many years of silence. I'm going to clarify the current situation with To The Beginning on Wattpad and talk a bit about Lost Echo's continuation.

    I'd like to tell you To The Beginning is finished and ready to ship, but not yet! I don't want to let an unfinished product put on indefinite hiatus sit around on my Wattpad profile, whilst I'm getting stuck in the editing process that is, in truth, harder to tackle than I anticipated. Not to mention, ironically, I've been stuck forever on Anthem of Peace's story arc, which is however, without a doubt, my favourite. I'm in a predicament where I want to prioritise quality over quantity, but I have nothing substantial to offer you yet, while we're approaching Dystopian Symphony's tenth anniversary on May 20th, 2022.

    Quick note, I can't believe I was nineteen years old when I embarked on this whole adventure, it takes me back for sure! Compared to myself in 2012, I'm such an old lady! Don't mind me while I'm having an existential crisis over getting old, remembering my writing in a foreign language's early days! *laughs*

    The interesting part about all this is honing my writing style everyday and at every opportunity! With Dystopian Symphony it appeared crystal-clear when I began reworking entirely The Beginning in 2017. I'm definitely not satisfied with, and a bit embarrassed of, what I've published online between 2012 and 2015, in hindsight,  but it's all part of bigger improvements. See The Beginning as a rough first draft, which contains many errors and bottomless plot holes. If I didn't share it with the world in the first place, maybe I wouldn't have completed it at all. It's my beta readers' feedback that motivated me to persevere and I'm forever thankful to them for supporting me!

    Lost Echo is a whole another topic; let's talk about my old frenemy Block (also known as writer's block)! Yes, I have pretty much bailed out on that one! Although I nailed the beginning chapters and have a vague idea of how it's going to end, unfortunately, I am struggling with the middle part, which seems to be my recurring weakness, associated with lack of planification. Actual writer's tip: let me advise you to map out some of your main plot elements before you start writing, instead of going all left without any plan of action. On many occasions, I ended up demotivated because of not knowing where to take the story next. It might even explain why it takes me several years to finish most of my first drafts!

    To be completely honest with you, I decided on reworking The Beginning entirely to improve stylewise, to reintroduce some characters properly where character development seemed lacking, and to get in the mood for writing Lost Echo again, as shown by some Lost Echo's elements sprinkled throughout To The Beginning (shush, shush!) It worked at first, but I haven't gotten far enough to foresee the possible continuation of Lost Echo as of yet. It may take a while still to mature, until it's good to go online, I'll keep you updated about my progress if it's worth some news. From now on, I won't make promises I can't keep!

    Thank you for reading, I can't wait to republish To The Beginning as soon as I get it done!
    Follow me on my new official author's Page at https://www.facebook.com/PaulaSpectacles

    Till' later!

    ***

    Author's note (March 3rd) :  It's Paula again! I could talk on and on about how I deal with editing and fixing errors when I spot them! Nevertheless, some edits were due to make more sense, since I wrote this pretty late at night and didn't spot right away some minor logical inconsistencies. Everyday is a learning experience!


  • Comments

    No comments yet



    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: